Quatuor Molinari

Quatuor Molinari

Site web

Olga Ranzenhofer,  violin, artistic director; Antoine Bareil,violin; Frédéric Lambert, viola; Pierre-Alain Bouvrette, cello

Internationally acclaimed by the public and the critics since its foundation in 1997, the Molinari Quartet has given itself the mandate to perform works from the 20th- and the 21st-century repertoire for string quartet, to commission new works and to initiate discussions between musicians, artists and the public. Recipient of 23 Opus Prizes awarded by the Quebec Music Council for musical excellence on the Quebec concert stage, the Molinari Quartet as been described by the critics as an “essential” and “prodigious” ensemble, even “Canada’s answer to the Kronos or Arditti Quartet”. The Molinari Quartet has established itself as one of Canada’s leading string quartets.

In addition to many Canadian works, including the 13 quartets by R. Murray Schafer, the Molinari Quartet’s repertoire includes quartets by Bartók, Berg, Britten, Debussy, Dutilleux, Glass, Gubaidulina, Kurtág, Ligeti, Lutoslawski, Martinů, Penderecki, Ravel, Scelsi, Schnittke, Shostakovich, Webern, and Zorn. The Molinari Quartet was heard twice as soloist with the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal under Charles Dutoit and in the spring of 2018, it premiered the Concerto for string quartet and orchestra by Samy Moussa with the Orchestre Métropolitain of Montréal under the direction of Nicholas Carter. The Quartet has been invited to perform in numerous concert series and festivals in Canada, Mexico, China, and Europe.

Its recordings on the ATMA Classique label have received international critical acclaim including two Editors’ Choices by Gramophone magazine and rave revues from, among others, The Strad, Fanfare, and Diapason. Its recording of the complete György Kurtág quartets has received a Diapason d’Or in December 2016 and the prestigious German Echo Klassik award for 20th- and 21st-century chamber music in July 2017. The Molinari Quartet’s recording of quartets by John Zorn, published in 2019, received the Opus Prize for Album of the Year – modern, contemporary music, and was nominated for a Juno award in January 2020.

Discography :
Leave a Reply

Quatuor Molinari

Site web

Olga Ranzenhofer, premier violon • Antoine Bareil, deuxième violon • Frédéric Lambert, alto • Pierre-Alain Bouvrette, violoncelle

Acclamé par le public et par la critique musicale internationale depuis sa fondation en 1997, le Quatuor Molinari se consacre au riche répertoire pour quatuor à cordes des XXe et XXIe siècles, commande des œuvres nouvelles aux compositeurs et initie des rencontres entre les musiciens, les artistes et le public. Récipiendaire de 23 prix Opus décernés par le Conseil québécois de la musique pour souligner l’excellence de la musique de concert, le Quatuor Molinari est qualifié par la critique canadienne d’ensemble « essentiel » et « prodigieux », voire de « pendant canadien aux quatuors Kronos et Arditti ». Le Quatuor Molinari s’est imposé comme l’un des meilleurs quatuors au Canada.

En plus de nombreuses œuvres canadiennes dont l’intégrale des 13 quatuors de R. Murray Schafer, le répertoire du Quatuor Molinari comprend entre autres, des oeuvres de Bartók, Berg, Britten, Chostakovitch, Debussy, Dutilleux, Glass, Goubaïdoulina, Kurtág, Ligeti, Lutoslawski, Martinů, Penderecki, Ravel, Scelsi, Schnittke, Webern et Zorn. Le Quatuor Molinari a été soliste avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal sous la direction de Charles Dutoit à deux reprises et en avril 2018, il est soliste avec l’Orchestre Métropolitain de Montréal dans la création du Concerto pour quatuor à cordes de Samy Moussa sous la direction de Nicholas Carter. Le Quatuor Molinari a été invité à de nombreux festivals et sociétés de concerts au Canada, en Europe et en Asie.

Les albums du Quatuor Molinari, sous étiquette ATMA Classique reçoivent les éloges unanimes de la critique internationale entre autres dans les revues The Strad, Gramophone (2 fois Editor’s Choice) Diapason et Fanfare. L’intégrale des quatuors de György Kurtág a reçu un Diapason d’or en décembre 2016 de la grande revue musicale française éponyme. De plus, il reçoit le prestigieux prix allemand Echo Klassik en juillet 2017 pour ce même enregistrement. L’album des quatuors de John Zorn du Quatuor Molinari, sorti en 2019, reçoit le prix Opus de l’Album de l’année – Musiques moderne, contemporaine et est en nomination pour un prix Juno en janvier 2020.

 

Discographie :
Laisser un commentaire