Bach: Cantatas Pour l’éternité BWV 4, 106, 9, 181




In stock


Pour l’éternité is volume 7 of ATMA cycle of J.S. Bach’s sacred cantatas and as the title suggests, these works evoke the quest for the great beyond. Cantata BWV 4 (Christ lay in the bonds of death) was written for Easter Sunday. Composed for the sixth Sunday after Trinity, cantata BWV 9 (Salvation now has come for all) is a choral cantata. Unlike the cantatas composed for Sunday liturgy, Cantata BWV 106 (God’s time is the very best time, posthumously named Actus tragicus), is a setting of Biblical and other texts selected to serve as a meditation on the death of Christ. Written for the Sexagesima Sunday (the second Sunday before Ash Wednesday), the short cantata BWV 181 (Light-minded frivolous spirits) promises the salvation of the believer. • This cycle is performed in keeping with the latest scholarship on Bach’s own performances, with the chorus sections sung by the four soloists, one voice per part.

Additional information

Weight N/A
Dimensions N/A





There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Bach: Cantatas Pour l’éternité BWV 4, 106, 9, 181”