Sheng Cai

Recently described as “having the inner passion paired with Rubinstein’s nonchalance” by Thüringer Allgemeine in Germany, Canadian pianist Sheng Cai has embraced the keyboard tradition which epitomizes the greatness of the romantic virtuoso. His performances of major keyboard works of the past centuries have touched audiences and won the praise of critics on four continents. The Toronto Star headlined “This is a young man with real talent… from a clear, singing tone to a subtle sense of rubato to a judicious choice of tempi” and described as a pianist “with great confidence… gave more lucidity, color and power” by the Birmingham News. Sheng Cai has been honoured with a number of prizes and awards and continues to push the boundaries in interpreting both the established and rarities of the piano literature.

Since his debut with the Toronto Symphony Orchestra at just fifteen years old, Sheng Cai has performed a broad spectrum of concerto repertoire from Mozart to 21st century composers with invitations to dozens of orchestras worldwide as guest soloist. Recent concerto performances include invitations to perform with the Toronto Symphony, Orchestre symphonique de Québec, Calgary Philharmonic, Windsor Symphony, Canton Symphony of Ohio, Fort Collins Symphony, New Bedford Symphony, Irving Symphony of Texas, and with Shanghai Symphony, Shenzhen Symphony as well as with Philharmonisches Orchester Erfurt in Germany, Kraków Philharmonic of Poland, North Czech Philharmonic, Jalisco Philharmonic and Orquesta Filarmónica Boca del Rio of Mexico, Orquesta Filarmónica de Bogotá in Colombia among many others. In Canada, Sheng Cai was also invited to perform with the Vancouver Symphony for the lunar New Year Gala Concert and has performed with numerous regional orchestras in the US and Canada from coast to coast such as Kingston, Kamloops, Folsom Lake Symphonies, Glacier Symphony of Montana. He has recently worked with many conductors such as Keith Lockhart, Yoav Talmi, David Lockington, Robert Moody, Charles Olivieri-Munroe, Myron Michailidis, Donato Cabrera, Robert Franz, Dina Gilbert, Guoyong Zhang, Marco Parisotto and Eckart Preu.

In solo recitals, Sheng Cai has been heard in many prestigious venues in North America, such as Steinway Hall in New York, Jordan Hall in Boston, Chicago’s international Music Center, the Cleveland Play House, the Modern Art Museum in Fort Worth, the Alys Stephens Center in Birmingham, CBC’s Glenn Gould Studio in Toronto, and other distinguished venues in Stratford, Elora, Montréal and Winnipeg. In China, he inaugurated the Ningbo concert hall, giving both recitals and concerto performances. As a chamber musician, Sheng Cai has collaborated with a number of fine artists, including the Enso String Quartet. Many of his performances have been broadcast across North America such as on CBC, Radio-Canada and WCLV Radio station in USA.

Sheng Cai is a passionate recording artist, his first recording was a CD of works by Mozart and Martinů for the Canadian Broadcast Company. His most recent Liszt and Grieg CD releases on ATMA classique labels gained international acclaim from the American Record Guide, The international Music Web Review in UK, the WholeNote Magazine in Canada and the Fanfare Music Magazine in the US.

He was a top-prize winner at many competitions throughout his teenage years, including the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal Competition (Concours OSM), Toronto Symphony Piano Competition, The International Young Artists Competition of Colorado, The Bay State competition in Boston, and was the youngest finalist and special prize winner at the Bösendorfer International Piano Competition in the US.

Sheng Cai is instrumental in advocating many neglected works that are peaks of the piano literature, works by composers such as Enescu, Kabalevsky, Kapustin, Medtner, Morawetz, Villa-Lobos and a number of his own works frequently shows up on his concert programs, his creative programming have made audience aware of such treasures of the piano literature deserves a wider audience.

Sheng Cai began his studies in Canada and US where he was a student at the Royal Conservatory of Music in Toronto and the Juilliard School’s pre-college division in New York. He received his Bachelor of Music Degree under full scholarship at The New England Conservatory in Boston. His teachers and mentors include pianists Anton Kuerti, Gary Graffman and Russell Sherman.

Discography :
Leave a Reply

Sheng Cai

Récemment décrit comme « ayant la passion intérieure associée à la nonchalance de Rubinstein » par le Thüringer Allgemeine en Allemagne, le pianiste canadien Sheng Cai se positionne dans la tradition pianistique incarnant la grandeur du virtuose romantique. Ses interprétations d’œuvres majeures pour clavier des siècles passés ont touché le public et récolté les éloges de la critique sur quatre continents. Le Toronto Star a titré « C’est un jeune homme avec un vrai talent… d’un ton clair et chantant à un sens subtil du rubato en passant par un choix judicieux de tempi » et décrit Sheng Cai comme un pianiste « d’une grande confiance… donnant plus de lucidité, couleur et puissance » par le Birmingham News. Sheng Cai a reçu de nombreux prix et récompenses et continue de repousser les limites en interprétant à la fois les classiques et les raretés du répertoire pour piano.

Depuis ses débuts avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto à seulement quinze ans, Sheng Cai a interprété un large éventail du répertoire de concertos allant de Mozart aux compositeurs du 21e siècle a été invité par des dizaines d’orchestres du monde entier en tant que soliste. Ses plus récents concerts l’ont amené à se produire avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto, l’Orchestre symphonique de Québec, l’Orchestre philharmonique de Calgary, l’Orchestre symphonique de Windsor, l’Orchestre symphonique de Canton de l’Ohio, l’Orchestre symphonique de Fort Collins, l’Orchestre symphonique de New Bedford, l’Orchestre symphonique d’Irving du Texas, l’Orchestre symphonique de Shanghai et l’Orchestre symphonique de Shenzhen ainsi qu’avec le Philharmonisches Orchester Erfurt en Allemagne, l’Orchestre philharmonique de Kraków en Pologne, le North Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, l’Orquesta Filarmónica de Jalisco et l’Orquesta Filarmónica Boca del Rio du Mexique, l’Orquesta Filarmónica de Bogotá en Colombie pour n’en nommer que certains. Au Canada, Sheng Cai a également été invité à se produire avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Vancouver pour le concert de gala du Nouvel An lunaire et a joué avec de nombreux orchestres régionaux aux États-Unis et au Canada d’un océan à l’autre, incluant ceux de Kingston, Kamloops, le Folsom Lake Symphonies et le Glacier Symphony of Montana. Il a récemment travaillé avec de nombreux chefs d’orchestre tels que Keith Lockhart, Yoav Talmi, David Lockington, Robert Moody, Charles Olivieri-Munroe, Myron Michailidis, Donato Cabrera, Robert Franz, Dina Gilbert, Guoyong Zhang, Marco Parisotto et Eckart Preu.

En récital solo, Sheng Cai s’est fait entendre dans de nombreuses salles prestigieuses en Amérique du Nord, telles que le Steinway Hall à New York, le Jordan Hall à Boston, le Chicago’s international Music Center, le Cleveland Play House, le Modern Art Museum à Fort Worth, l’Alys Stephens Centre à Birmingham, le Glenn Gould Studio de la CBC à Toronto et d’autres salles prestigieuses à Stratford, Elora, Montréal et Winnipeg. En Chine, il inaugure la salle de concert de Ningbo, donnant à la fois des récitals et des concertos. En tant que chambriste, Sheng Cai a collaboré avec un certain nombre de grands artistes, dont le Quatuor à cordes Enso. Plusieurs de ses performances ont été diffusées à travers l’Amérique du Nord, notamment sur CBC, Radio-Canada et la station de radio WCLV aux États-Unis.

Sheng Cai est un artiste passionné d’enregistrement et son premier album regroupe des œuvres de Mozart et Martinů. Ses plus récentes parutions de Liszt et Grieg sous étiquette ATMA Classique ont été acclamées à l’échelle internationale par l’American Record Guide, The international Music Web Review au Royaume-Uni, le WholeNote Magazine au Canada et le Fanfare Music Magazine aux États-Unis.

Il a été lauréat de nombreux concours tout au long de son adolescence, dont le Concours de l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (Concours OSM), le Concours de piano de l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto, le Concours international des jeunes artistes du Colorado, le Concours Bay State à Boston et a été le plus jeune finaliste et lauréat du prix spécial du Concours international de piano Bösendorfer aux États-Unis.

Sheng Cai joue un rôle déterminant dans la défense de nombreuses œuvres négligées qui sont des sommets de la littérature pour piano : des œuvres de compositeurs tels que Enescu, Kabalevsky, Kapustin, Medtner, Morawetz, Villa-Lobos et un certain nombre de ses propres œuvres apparaissent fréquemment sur ses programmes de concerts ; sa programmation créative a sensibilisé le public à de tels trésors de la littérature pianistique qui mérite un plus large public.

Sheng Cai a commencé ses études au Canada et aux États-Unis où il a été étudiant au Royal Conservatory of Music de Toronto et à la division préuniversitaire de la Juilliard School à New York. Il a obtenu son baccalauréat en musique dans le cadre d’une bourse complète au New England Conservatory de Boston. Ses professeurs et mentors incluent les pianistes Anton Kuerti, Gary Graffman et Russell Sherman.

Discographie :
Laisser un commentaire