MENDELSSOHN: Requiem für Fanny



Release date : Feb 2007

PDF Booklet

“The world according to Alcan is transparent and open, with a most inviting coherence.”


The Alcan Quartet performs music for string ensemble that reveals both the dark and light sides Mendelssohn’s character. His Quartet No. 6, Op. 80 is an anguished requiem for his sister Fanny, written shortly before the composer himself died. Four Pieces, Op. 81 was assembled by a publisher two years after Mendelssohn’s death. Canada’s internationally acclaimed violist Steven Dann joins the musicians of the Alcan for the composer’s Quintet No. 2, Op.87, written in 1845 during a period of relative calm.

Additional information



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “MENDELSSOHN: Requiem für Fanny”

Available titles

SKU: ACD22501 Category: Tags: ,