Six Transcriptions




In stock

ACD: ACD22677 Category: Tags: ,


Francis Colpron performs transcriptions of flamboyant violin pieces for solo recorder by the Baroque composers Tartini, Bach, Telemann, and Marais. Though the recorder remained very popular until the middle of the 18th century, the music written for the instrument was not always interesting or virtuosic. Given the relative dearth of challenging scores for the recorder, Colpron has reached into the violin repertoire for inspiration. Colpron has a fondness for this music, and has immensely enjoyed playing sonatas by some of the great 17th-century violinists, including Fontana, Uccellini, and Schmelzer.Francis Colpron is known for his virtuosity and for his capacity to innovate as an artist and performer. In 1991, he founded the ensemble Les Boréades de Montréal, of which he is the artistic director. Francis was associate flutist with the Trinity Consort of Portland from 2000 to 2009, and is frequently invited to play with ensembles such as Apollo’s Fire, the Studio de musique ancienne de Montréal, the National Arts Centre Orchestra, Tafelmusik, Opera Atelier, Les Violons du Roy, Symphony Nova Scotia, and L’Harmonie des Saisons.

Additional information

Weight N/A
Dimensions N/A



, , , ,



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Six Transcriptions”

You may also like…