La Truite


Release date : Oct 2004

PDF Booklet

This product is currently out of stock and unavailable.


The “Trout” Quintet for piano and strings in A major is certainly one of the best-known works of Schubert, indeed of the entire chamber-music repertoire. The Trout in the title refers to the work’s fourth movement, which is a series of variations on the eponymous lied. The Quintet is written for an unusual combination that—like Hummel’s E-flat major Quintet—sees the string quartet’s second violin replaced by a double-bass. The Chamber Players of Canada also perform the Adagio and Rondo Concertante in F major, D 487, a pure example of “Hausmusik” (music for the home) destined to enliven an evening with friends or family.

Additional information



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “La Truite”

Available titles

SKU: ACD22346 Categories: , Tags: ,